“Swimming closer to you- Take me to my beach”

Have you seen The Beach, the movie? or read the book by Alex Garland?

I realized, while having my big-fish cake-salad bowl, that Alex Garland was exactly as old as I am when he wrote the book.

I’m moving I’m coming
Can you hear, what I hear
It’s calling you my dear
Out of reach (Take me to my beach)
I can hear it, calling you
I’m coming not drowning
Swimming closer to you
(Take me to my beach)

Lyrics: All Saints -Pure shoes. 

Twenty years after it was published, fifteen since I got my hands on it, the book is still my favorite. Though the book is nothing about food, has no mentions, memories or anything even related to food, I cant help but smile thinking of Rich when I see fish in salad. The way he fought the shark, and his tales of catching 15 milky fish every day!

Salads and fish are like the ultimate comfort food in my opinion. Just some perfectly grilled or buttered fish, tossed with vegetables and a tangy dressing… Or even ramen! yum!

I like to fillet fish and since I am teaching myself how to I am left with at least a few good strips of flesh on the bones. I usually scrape these strips off, marinate them with soy, lemon grass, thai chillies, ginger, rice vinegar and salt, form small balls and grill them for a few minutes. Pair them with a pickled beets and carrots, iceberg or romaine lettuce, a runny egg and a good sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds. Its really, really good!

15251647_242475582837406_328567171397451776_nLook at the colors on that plate, soothing- just like the beach!

And this is what I made with the fillet I cut after butchering that fish! Crispy skin fish, plantain chips, onion marmalade and some fresh lettuce and cucumber.

dsc_3658-copy

Leave a Reply

